Leaving Paris to live in the countryside

IMG_7402

Today I am sharing with you a personal post about my move from Paris, the city in which I was born and raised for 15 years, to the French countryside, where I now live and go to school.

My dad was born in a small village in the French countryside. He left his home town to go study in the closest big city. He then moved around France for different jobs before settling in Paris. He met my mom there. Moving back to his hometown was always on the back of his mind. He built a house on the land next to his childhood house in order to move there when he will retire from his policeman job.

The time came : he retired at the same time where I was about to go to high school from middle school. This was the perfect time to move, we where both going on a new life path and my mom was also willing to move.

My family and I moved in July 2013. Looking back at my live before I moved I reckon this was one of the best thing that happened to me. The fifteen years I lived in Paris were amazing, that’s not the point but in term of social life I was not in the best place. Becaue I went to a private middle school and not the public one all my friends were going to I wasnt with the friends I had since childhood. The friendship I made in middle schoo were, I realise now, quite toxic and one sided.

I changed school but also completely changed town, so I was able to create healthier friendships, and a new me. No one had expectation about me : I could dress like I wanted without being criticized or told that this did not fitted my style, I could listen to any music not the one my “friends” listened to..

This change was extremely positive for me. I became a whole new me without actually being someone different. I just learnt to show more of my own personality without trying to be someone else. My new friends are all true friends that I want to have for the rest of my life (alongside my childhood friends from Paris that I still love to death.), I am more open, I express myself more and I am genuinely HAPPY !
I am going to continue to write this new chapter of my life as I am almost certain I am going to move out form my parents house to go to university next year. I’ll live in a town that I would describe as middle sized, big enough to have a really good university but not big enough to be one of the top 10 biggest cities of France.

I would love to hear your story, tell me if one event or person has allowed you to change, like I did, for the best ! You can leave your thoughts in the comment section on the left side of this post.

I was inspired to write this by a blog post on The Elgin Avenue titled My experience leaving london to live in the countryside. Monica shared her own experience and her turning point to move to the English countryside.

Have a nice weekend, xx
Mathilde.

2 thoughts on “Leaving Paris to live in the countryside

Leave a Reply

