My 5 favorite things in Paris

5favoritethingsinParis

 

I was born and raised in Paris, France and even if I don’t travel outside of France a lot I can assure you Paris is my favorite city in the worldwide world.  I decided as my first blogpost to write about my 5 favorite things in Paris.

First thing has to be the architecture. If you visit Paris with your eyes on the sidewalk you are doing it wrong. The most beautiful thing in Paris is the diversity of architecture you can discover in the street. Many monuments are known because of their architecture the Eiffel Tower in the 7th arrondissement, the business district La Defense (technically not in Paris but just on the border), the Notre Dame Cathedral in the 4th arrondissement. As I am fond of history I also often realize that you can learn a lot about Paris history and French history through architecture. My favorite has to be the Eiffel Tower in the 7th arrondissement just for the symbol, but I also love the National Library of France building in the 13th arrondissement and the Simone de Beauvoir footbridge in the 12th arrondissement.

Museums are my second favorites things about Paris. I’m always up to go to an exhibition or to learn something new. Whereas in London almost all museum are free it’s not the case in Paris. But don’t let the price and the queue discouraged you to visit them! My favorites have to be the  Louvre Museum in the 1st arrondissement and the The Musée Grévin in the 9th arrondissement  where I used to go really often with my dad! The Musée Grévin is a wax museum similar to Madame Tussauds, but with over 200 wax statues of people that made France history.

Parks are always a must in big urbanized cities and Paris definitely has loads to discover. This small connection to mother nature is really amazing and I always enjoyed them (so much that I took my first step in one of them in urge to walk around it maybe?). Three favorites, The Jardin des Plante sin the 5th arrondissement, The Parc André Citroën in the 15th arrondissement and the Parc de Bercy in the 12th arrondissement.

Because Paris is the biggest city in the country, singers, performers and sport teams have access to bigger venues for their events. As a Parisian I really enjoyed the access I had to big events such has football and rugby games, athletic meetings or music concerts. My favorites venues are the Stade Charlétyin the 13th arrondissement, the Pelouse de Reuilly in the 12th arrondissement where I went to a Christmas circus show almost every year and the Stade de France (located just outside Paris in Saint Denis where I went several times to cheer for France national football team or the French rugby union team.

Last but not least, a major favorite about Paris is the access you have to foreign culture through food, markets, shops, events and district. I lived Paris’s main Asian district, the Quartier Asiatique in the 13th arrondissement of Paris for fifteen years and this connection with the Asian culture is amazing there. It is the case in a loads of areas in Paris as well.

I hope you liked discovering my 5 favorites things in Paris. As a former Parisian who loves Paris I hope you discovered something new about The City of Light.

If you have any questions, recommendations in Paris or if you just want to comment go ahead in the comment section down below!

Mathilde

4 thoughts on “My 5 favorite things in Paris

  1. Claudia says:

    I’ve always loved Paris. I’ve been there twice in just a year and I’m really hoping I can go back as soon as I can. Reading this post has only improved my need to visit that beautiful city again. It’s my dream to live in a cute apartment there.
    Claudia x

    Like

Leave a Reply

